Prize Encourages Students to Reflect on ANZAC… Plus, Be An MP for 90 Seconds!

Multiple competitions are currently running to give students the opportunity to reflect on both Victoria’s past, through the Premier’s Spirit of ANZAC Prize, and Victoria’s present and future through the Parliamentary Prize.

Victorian students in Years 9-11 in the Hawthorn Electorate are eligible to win $2,500 as they learn about Australian service people and their history through the Premier’s Spirit of Anzac Prize.

The annual competition run by the Victorian Government aims to build greater awareness of Australia’s war and peacekeeping history and the remarkable contributions of our veterans.

The Member for Hawthorn, John Kennedy, encourages schools and students in Hawthorn, Hawthorn East, Camberwell, Canterbury and Glen Iris to participate in this great program. The prize will support educational experiences and expenses and be administered by their school.

Students can enter the competition by responding to and reflecting on the Spirit of Anzac and how it represents resilience, courage, endurance, ingenuity, mateship, and good humour. They can submit their responses in a range of formats including essay, artwork, video, audio, music, webpage or poem.

Students are encouraged to explore the topic from a personal perspective and to seek out the views of veterans in their own communities if possible.

Applications for the prize in 2021 close at 5pm on Tuesday 31 August, with winners expected to be notified in October. For more information, the full topic and eligibility criteria, students and schools can click here.

Additionally, there are 36 days left (from the time of writing) for students from Grade 5 to Year 12 to enter into the Parliamentary Prize competition. 

What would you say to Parliament if you had 90 seconds as an MP?
Last year’s first place winner in the Year 10-12 category was Hawthorn student Ben Garson – let’s see the bright young people of Hawthorn represented once again.
For more information on the Parliamentary Prize, click here.